Shuffled Links

Some links while thinking about how patient Randy Lerner should be with #$%^ Mangini, considering Mangenius’ lack of patience with his QB situation. . .

 

It is important for a team to bond.

 

This is not what the SEC had in mind when they thought about making national headlines.

 

Deadspin has a good write up on the Sports Guy.  It’s also about why we change as a culture and why I get the opportunity to do what I do here.

 

Remember when the Indians had Phil Niekro and Steve Carlton on their pitching staff?  Well, Michael Wilbon thinks something similar could be good for the Cavs.

 

John Conzano says that history could be a valuable lesson for LeGarrette Blount.  Personally I don’t think he should be reinstated, but I still feel that the jackass that he punched absolutely had it coming.

 

The SBJ ponders the future of sports networks owned by leagues.  I’m already looking forward to 24-hour coverage of the MEAC!

 

I’m glad to see Drew Sharp has some patience.  Three years is a long time to wait for success. . .

 

Who was the biggest snub in the Gold Glove voting?  I agree with Joe Posnanski.  Oh, and Rob Neyer, too.  It’s just one of the many reasons why I don’t take Gold Glove voting seriously.

 

It’s really a shame what happens to some old ballparks.

 

Here is some really cool research about the strike zone.  You read that sentence correctly; I found this stuff to be really cool.

 

Craig Calcaterra of Shysterball has a take on a potential Hall of Famer.  One of my favorite stories about this candidate involves the owners not listening to Charlie Finley.

 

Now here is something that my parents – or anyone else who knows me for that matter – would never think was a possibility.  I own four of the top ten best sellers on the New York Times Best Seller List.  It’s true!  I own numbers one, four, seven, and ten.  I recommend all four of them, as they are written by three of my favorite writers:  Bill Simmons, Chuck Klosterman, and Malcolm Gladwell.

 

And finally, Art Theil warns of the risks of signing former stars on their last legs.  There’s an old quote by Joe DiMaggio that, when asked about knowing when to retire as a ballplayer, he said “You start chasing a ball and your brain immediately commands your body to ‘Run forward, bend, scoop up the ball, peg it to the infield,’ then your body says, ‘Who me?’”.  The problem is that most athletes don’t want to listen.

 

Dan Boyce is the Sports Editor for TheSportsHole.com.  Along with his “Lord of the Stats” blog, Dan does frequent front page columns and his podcast, “The Boyce of the People”.  Anyone with any thoughts or comments can reach Dan here.

Leave a Reply

